Skyfall!

Standard

I am a Bond fan. There, I said it. Every time a bond movie releases, my excitement knows no bounds because I know there’ll be new gadgets to drool over. And then there are these things that Bond does and get away with, which is completely out of bounds for any other actor for any of their movies. James Bond is always classy, suave and such a womanizer. He even kills with such ease and panache.

But this movie left me disappointed and wanting for more. Not that I’ve liked the previous Bond movies ever since Daniel Craig became James Bond. There’s a distinct disconnect or let’s just say I haven’t yet found that one thing that’d connect me with him. And in this movie the lack of gadgets didn’t help either. In the recent past, if I recall well, Batman seemed better equipped with his tech-savvy toys than the Bond. This movie can’t boast of anything extraordinary.

There’s a scene in the movie where Bond is chasing the bad guy and he has to jump onto the moving train to keep following him. The first thing he does after jumping is adjust his cuff links. That’s so Bond like and only he can carry it off. And for that I have no qualms. But at the end of the day, you are James Bond and you ought to have your gadgets with you to show off.

However, I did enjoy these lines from Tennyson’s poem “Ulysses” which M spoke in the movie. The words connect at so many different levels and had long forgotten them but the movie reminded them to me again.

 

“Though much is taken, much abides; and though

We are not now that strength which in old days

Moved earth and heaven; that which we are, we are;

One equal temper of heroic hearts,

Made weak by time and fate, but strong in will

To strive, to seek, to find and not to yield.”

 

Share your two cents :-

