Daily Prompt: Childhood Revisited!

Standard

children-playing-outdoors

I revisited my childhood today, thanks to the Daily Prompt.

What is your earliest memory? Describe it in detail, and tell us why you think that experience was the one to stick with you.

For as far as I can jog my memory the one thing that sticks out from my childhood is the amount of time I spent playing outside. I think I’m glad I was born in the era when life wasn’t so technology driven and the simplest of pleasures were to be outside the home, exploring nature and playing with friends. I remember how my parents had this rule of finishing home-work before I could head out to play. And around the same time in the evening all kids used to come out to play. Run after each other and scream while parents went for their evening walks, used to give us the thrills. Life was so much simpler, I feel. Irrespective of our age and the school we studied in, we mingled around and just had fun. If I can recollect well, there was hardly any time ever for watching TV and it was rarely exciting. The highlight in those days used to be watching movies in open air auditoriums or theatres as compared to the comforts of sitting at home watching on projectors.

Fast forward to the present time, I somehow feel sad for the kids. Everywhere you go one sees these kids either glued to their cell phones or PS3. Their idea of fun is playing a game on one of those apps installed on their phone and winning it. Their idea of mingling around is chatting with friends over the phone or texting them. I often hear from parents how things have changed in all these years. How difficult it is getting for them to convince their kids to go outside the house for a walk or just run around and play. Life has become so much dependent on technology and the exposure they have through all these gadgets that it’s becoming so difficult to just get them to breathe and even eat the proper food. I can’t even envision how things will be in another 20 years from now. I do know that it’s because of this exposure that they are better informed and a smarter generation but then the cost at which this all is coming is what baffles me sometimes.

I guess everything has its own pros and cons.

* Pic from the net.

9 responses »

  1. I grew up in the same time, no technology to babysit us, do homework then out to play until dinner was ready or the sun went down, whichever came first. I remember the highlights in those days for us, wasn’t watching movies in open air auditoriums or theatres but watching the Olympics or Charlie Brown Thanksgiving or the Christmas specials. THOSE were treated as mini holidays in my family. My mother planned meals around those televised specials. Now, as you noted, its different. Those shows are on DVD and we can watch them any ole time…well not the Olympics! lol It is somewhat sad for the kids today, what I see mostly harmed is the ability to dream to imagine, to fashion a sword out of a piece of wood. To build a fort out of a refrigerator box or just seeing the changes of colors when the sun goes down. Sure everyone can see that stuff on the internet via Google, but it is simply not the same as experiencing it.

    • Wow. You worded it more beautifully than I could and I’m glad you share the same sentiments. Something is definitely amiss and it isn’t the same and it’s sad because there’ll never know what it was to just enjoy and watch life go by without the intervention of tech gadgets. Thanks for dropping by and sharing such amazing thoughts.. Loved every single line of yours. :-)

  2. Pingback: TORNADO MEMORIES? « hastywords

Share your two cents :-

