Friday Fictioneers!

Standard

Every week Rochelle posts a pic and encourages everyone to write a 100 word story based on it. The photo prompt for this week is:

ffPhoto Copyright: Rich Voza

Home!

(100 Words)

I was running late so implored a lot to get through the airport security. I smiled when I finally boarded the flight. And now all I could think of was reaching home and soaking myself in the bathtub. It had been a long, exhausting day.

Somewhere mid-air, I woke up due to the turbulence and looked groggily at the air hostess requesting everyone to tighten their seat belts.

Within a few minutes, I heard the pilot’s voice “Ok! Everyone. This is it. Brace yourself for impact.”

At that moment, I, somehow, knew I was never going to make it home.

60 responses »

  1. “At that moment, I, somehow, knew I was reaching home. But a different one.” I donno if I would consider the black void ‘home’ but I guess it would be returning to the state I was in before existence. What a masterfully morbid story. Excellent.

    • I know. This is the only story that came to mind after looking at the pic. Can’t wait to read your story, that’s if you’d be writing this week for FF. Thanks for reading.

  2. Dear Muzer,
    I’m happy you didn’t withdraw your story. Yes, we both wrote about crashes but they’re not the same. Not knowing what you changed I can only comment on what I read. In 100 words you illustrated the fragility of life. There’s an old Yiddish saying, “We make plans and God laughs.”
    Well done.
    Shalom,
    Rochelle

    • Hi Rochelle,
      Honestly, I wanted to but I really didn’t get a chance to so just let this one be.. :-) I just made a minor change in the last line so you got the gist of the story. Your comments are always so uplifting, makes me happy reading them. And have heard that saying,, it always comes in the way of living..:-) Thanks for reading. Appreciate your feedback.

    • I know, didn’t want to make it tragic but it went that way. Thanks for reading and your kind words, Padmini.. I loved reading your story too, very innovative.. :-)

  3. Enjoyed this, nice work. I wonder if it might have been more effective in the present tense? There’s always this conflict when writing about something terminal in the past tense – like – how could he be writing it if he’s dead. Terrifying idea though, waking up to die.

    • You make perfect sense, Sandra. And am sure it would be more effective. Will try giving it a shot, time permitting. Thanks for reading and the valuable input.

    • Hehe.. Now that made me laugh. Well with all the plane crashes happening this week I think I should give this plane a chance, a miracle of sorts! :-) Thanks for reading.

  4. I was admiring how beautiful was the sun then I read the last sentences, Within a few minutes, I heard the pilot’s voice “Ok! Everyone. This is it. Brace yourself for impact.”

    At that moment, I, somehow, knew I was never going to make it home.” and was stunned. thrilling story.

    • Thanks so much for stopping by and reading. Even I didn’t plan to end it like this when I started writing the story. Wanted a happy ending but somehow this made its way. Happy to hear your feedback. :-)

  5. Dear MuZer,

    Well done. The moment arrives for some unfortunate people. I have dreamt of it many times and have trained myself to do the right thing. It is a test…

    Loved your story.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    • I think that’s a good thing to just sleep it off.. Only if she could wake up to everything being fine, now that would’ve been amazing. Thanks for stopping by and reading.

  6. Now the wish that the screeners had held you up longer seeps into your mind, if there is room with all the panic. As i watch the stewardesses recount the safety procedures i know it is necessary and possible, but we get so complacent with time we don’t want to acknowledge such an l event.

    • My point exactly. She was so ecstatic to board the flight and now just wishes she would’ve missed it somehow. I guess you can’t run away from destiny.. Thanks for stopping by and reading.

  7. Oh gosh, that’s a scary one…I often wonder how people in situations like the one you describe here act or feel. Pray I never have to experience it. Very well done

    • Yes, it is indeed scary and the thought itself terrifies me so really can’t imagine how those must feel who have to go through this experience. Thanks for stopping by and reading. Just read your heartwarming stories and a lovely tribute. :-)

Share your two cents :-

