Daily Archives: January 16, 2013

Friday Fictioneers!

Standard

Every week Rochelle posts a pic for Friday Fictioneers and encourages everyone to write a 100 word story based on it. The photo prompt for this week is:

friday fictioneersHere is my contribution:

Silver Lining!

(100 words)

Growing up with my mother wasn’t easy. My father abandoned us when I was 2 and she turned to alcohol for relief. Every time I cried for attention she threw the crayons at me.

“Go to your room and sketch or whatever you do with these sticks.” She’d scream. I’d spend hours scribbling on white sheets of paper indignantly. Her resentment cost me my entire childhood.

Retrospectively, I’m glad she introduced me to crayons as gradually they became an outlet for my bottled up emotions. So it’s only fair that I give her credit for making me a renowned artist.