Daily Archives: February 7, 2013

The Ligo Haibun Challenge: Melt!

Standard

Insatiable Desire!

(218 Words)

Lying on the bed, draped in satin sheet, I gaped at the ceiling and the ludicrous blue color. The hotel room needed a serious makeover and yet here we were every Wednesday. The warmth of his breath made me feel alive. Even in deep slumber, he looked so appealing. Normally, I’d fall asleep in his arms and go our separate ways in the morning but tonight sleep eluded me.

“Wake up.” I couldn’t resist and shook him up.

“Whaaaaat?”

“What do I mean to you?”

“Ugh! Seriously. At this hour? Let’s talk in the morning.”

“I want to know now.”

“You’re the air I breathe. My oxygen. Every moment I spend without you, I die a little.”

“Then why can’t we be together? Marry me. I want to be yours forever.”

“You know, I love you. I really do. But I can’t divorce her. Please don’t ruin what we have. This was our pact when we started seeing each other.”

After a long pause, he continued.. “Now come, show me some love.”

I lay there staring at the flickering candle and the melting wax. A tear made its way to the ear from the corner of my eye.

Love faded. Hope died. One more night.

Melting by his touch

Succumbing to his strong hold

My heart sank again

***************************************************

* Written for the Haibun Challenge:

Haībun is Prosimetric writing. The haībun format here for the Līgo Haībun Challenge is as follows ~

A paragraph (more than one paragraph is fine, or just a few sentences) in prose form of either

  • a descriptive passage , or excerpt from a story/or previously published post
  • an explanation
  • a tale
  • a travelogue
  • a news item
  • a recipe

and

  • the haiku to close